Header image  
line decor
line decor


Isle of Man

The Isle of Man is some 60 miles West of the Lancashire coast and has a rich history as it lies on an important sea route from Scandinavia to Ireland. It is named after Manannan Mac Lir (Son of the Sea) an ancient sea god.

According to Manx legend St. Bride left Ireland with three virgins to receive the veil at the hands of bishop Maughold. She is said to have founded a monastery on the island and the church at Kirk Bride.

The parish of Bride is at the far north of the island and on a clear day the Scottish and Cumbrian mountains are visible. The little village of Kirk Bride has an Anglican parish church dedicated to St. Bride (OS NX449012). The present church was opened in 1872 and consecrated on 8 September 1876. It stands on the site of an earlier church built around 1200. Before that it was the site of a “Keeill” a (Culdee Cell). From the 6th century there were celtic clergy known as “Culdees” (Servant of God) who lived an austere life and acted as spiritual directors to local families. The church has a stained glass window depicting St. Bride. A viking cross and an Adam and Eve stone (one of only six in Britain). Old place names include, “Chibbyr Vreeshey” (Bride's Well) from which holy water was drawn for the baptismal font in the Church.

The Manx names, Bree (female) and Brian (male) are both derived from the Celtic root “brig” meaning high or noble. Calybrid derived from “cailleac + brid” means, Woman devoted to Bride.

Photo album



Kirk Bride

Kirk Bride


| About | Contact |

    | Photo Album |   © brighid.org.uk 2003-9